We have reached the end of two intense weeks that were filled with events organized by the LIFE Metro Adapt project – funded by the LIFE program of the European Union. Metro Adapt was part of the initiatives related to Pre-Cop26 in Milan, the preparatory event for the 26th UN Climate Summit in Glasgow and All4 Climate, which brings together all the events dedicated to the fight against climate change.

Le 21 septembre, dans la matinée, l'atelier international “Climate Change Adaptation Strategies in European Metropolises” a eu lieu en ligne et en anglais". L'atelier s'adressait aux autorités nationales et internationales, locales et régionales et, plus particulièrement, aux métropoles européennes, dans le but de créer un espace de dialogue et d'échange de bonnes pratiques d'adaptation au changement climatique dans les zones urbaines. En outre, elle comprenait un événement satellite de la cérémonie de la Convention des Maires 2021, qui a été l'occasion d'attirer l'attention sur diverses expériences dans différents territoires, unis dans le défi de l'adaptation au changement climatique.

La journée s'est poursuivie en fin de matinée avec la réunion d'échange avec le Climate Knowledge Network à l'Esprit de Milan.L'objectif de cette intéressante réunion était de partager l'outil de suivi des solutions basées sur la nature (NBS) créé par le projet LIFE Metro Adapt et d'encourager la création de synergies entre les participants. La réunion a été très fructueuse et a vu des professionnels et des experts techniques du climat partager leurs idées et leurs expériences liées au projet dans la zone métropolitaine.

En outre, outre les partenaires du projet LIFE Metro Adapt, des autorités locales ont participé à la table:


"Nous sommes en effet très fiers que le projet Life Metro Adapt ait toujours travaillé main dans la main avec le Réseau de connaissances climatiques, confirmant ainsi combien le système territorial milanais est capable d'identifier les problèmes climatologiques et de mettre en œuvre des mesures d'adaptation multi-objectifs" explique Cinzia Davoli.


"Nous sommes en effet très fiers que le projet Life Metro Adapt ait toujours travaillé main dans la main avec le Réseau de connaissances sur le climat, confirmant ainsi à quel point le système territorial milanais est capable d'identifier les problèmes climatologiques et de mettre en œuvre des mesures d'adaptation multi-objectifs", explique Cinzia Davoli, responsable du projet LIFE Metro Adapt pour la ville métropolitaine de Milan. "Nous avons tous travaillé ensemble pour identifier les prochaines étapes à franchir concrètement pour soutenir et accélérer la transition écologique et climatologique dont notre territoire a besoin. Nous inclurons également les résultats de ce travail dans une proposition que nous ferons à l'Union européenne lors des étapes de dialogue qui s'ouvriront dans les prochains mois."

La journée s'est poursuivie par un parcours de découverte des solutions d'adaptation basées sur la nature (NBS) mises en œuvre et opérant sur le territoire métropolitain.

La première semaine s'est terminée le vendredi 24 septembre avec la pièce de théâtre "PALE BLUE DOT – PALLIDO PALLINO BLU” au Piccolo Teatro Grassi (MI). Une incroyable histoire d'espoir, d'émerveillement, de beauté et de désespoir, par et avec Andrea Brunello, mise en scène de Christian Di Domenico, musique d'Enrico Merlin. La soirée a été introduite par la ville métropolitaine de Milan et Legambiente Lombardia, puis, après le spectacle, les participants ont eu l'occasion de discuter avec Andrea Brunello et l'équipe du projet.

La deuxième semaine a vu, le 28 septembre 2021, la conclusion réussie du projet Life Metro Adapt. Au cours de la matinée et en début d'après-midi à "Lo Spirit de Milan" (MI), s'est tenue la conférence finale "Stratégies et mesures d'adaptation au changement climatique dans la ville métropolitaine de Milan", qui a été suivie en présence et en mode en ligne par plus de 100 personnes.

Les partenaires du projet étaient:

 

Ils ont présenté aux médias, aux délégués de l'UE et à de nombreuses parties prenantes, les résultats obtenus au cours de trois années de travail, notamment par la mise en œuvre d'interventions pilotes visant à lutter contre le risque hydraulique élevé auquel est exposée la zone métropolitaine de Milan. Ces résultats ont été obtenus grâce aux Nature-Based Solutions, qui sont des travaux d'ingénierie qui s'inspirent de la nature afin d'étudier et de reproduire ses éléments dans les zones urbaines pour améliorer leur résilience.

Ensuite, les participants ont été invités à partager leurs connaissances et leur expérience dans trois groupes de discussion qui ont abordé trois questions liées au projet:

  1. Connaître le climat, par Elisa Anna Di Palma, Luca Trepiedi, Paolo Antonelli - Ligne changement climatique du projet CReIAMO PA du ministère de la Transition écologique, et Monica Palandri de e- GEOS.
  2. L'adaptation au changement climatique, par Marina Trentin d'Ambiente Italia et Marco Callerio de Gruppo CAP.
  3. Communiquer le climat, par Luca Lombroso, météorologue de l'AMPRO et divulgateur environnemental et Legambiente.

Après le déjeuner, un moment de restitution des résultats des travaux en séance plénière a suivi.

La journée s'est terminée en fin d'après-midi par la remise des prix du concours photo "PhotoAdapt - Les impacts du changement climatique dans la ville métropolitaine de Milan". Cette cérémonie a été suivie d'un moment convivial avec un apéritif et de la bonne musique live.

Nous sommes vraiment fiers des réalisations, et nous sommes également heureux d'avoir partagé avec tant de personnes des connaissances, des bonnes pratiques et des questions liées au monde du changement climatique, en favorisant un dialogue actif et constructif sur les défis de la crise climatique.

Merci encore à tous ceux qui ont participé!

***
Vous pouvez désormais télécharger le manuel LIFE Metro Adapt!Le manuel est une ressource utile conçue pour diffuser à la fois les résultats du projet, ses outils et son expertise. Ainsi, chacun peut s'inspirer des bonnes pratiques mises en œuvre par le projet.

(Photo du collage : Michele Maggi)
(Photos des partenaires du projet)

We have reached the end of two intense weeks that were filled with events organized by the LIFE Metro Adapt project – funded by the LIFE program of the European Union. Metro Adapt was part of the initiatives related to Pre-Cop26 in Milan, the preparatory event for the 26th UN Climate Summit in Glasgow and All4 Climate, which brings together all the events dedicated to the fight against climate change.

Starting on September 21st, in the morning, the International Workshop “Climate Change Adaptation Strategies in European Metropolises” took place online and in English. The workshop was addressed to both national and international, local and regional authorities and, specifically, to European metropolitan areas, with the aim of creating a space for dialogue and exchange of good practices of adaptation to climate change in urban areas. Furthermore, it included a satellite event of the Covenant of Mayors 2021 Ceremony, which was an opportunity to bring attention to various experiences in different territories, united in the challenge of climate change adaptation.

The day continued in the late morning with the exchange meeting with the Climate Knowledge Network at the Spirit de Milan (MI). The aim of this interesting meeting was to share the Nature-Based Solutions (NBS) monitoring tool created by the Metro Adapt LIFE Project and to encourage the creation of synergies among participants. The meeting was very fruitful and saw professionals and technical experts in climate sharing their ideas and experiences related to the project in the metropolitan area.

In addition, besides LIFE Metro Adapt partners, the table was attended by local authorities:

  • City of Milan;
  • Meteorological Observatory Milan Cathedral;
  • Lombardy Foundation for the Environment;
  • Italian Society of Landscape Ecology (SIEP-IALE);
  • ERSAF (Regional Agency for Services to Agriculture and Forestry);
  • Polytechnic of Milan and
  • IUAV University of Venice.

"We are very proud indeed of the fact that the Life Metro Adapt project has always worked hand in hand with the Climate Knowledge Network, confirming how much Milan’s territorial system is able to identify climatological problems and implement multi-objective adaptation measures" explains Cinzia Davoli


“We are very proud indeed of the fact that the Life Metro Adapt project has always worked hand in hand with the Climate Knowledge Network, confirming how much Milan’s territorial system is able to identify climatological problems and implement multi-objective adaptation measures,” explains Cinzia Davoli, Project Manager of LIFE Metro Adapt for the Metropolitan City of Milan. “We all worked together to identify the next steps to take concretely to support and speed up the ecological and climatological transition our territory needs. We will also include the results of this work in a proposal that we will make to the European Union in the stages of dialogue that will open in the coming months.”

The day continued with a tour to discover nature-based adaptation solutions (NBS) implemented and operating within the metropolitan territory.

The first week ended on Friday, September 24th, with the play “PALE BLUE DOT – PALLIDO PALLINO BLU” at the Piccolo Teatro Grassi (MI). A Jet Propulsion Theatre show of the theater company Arditodesio. An incredible story of hope, wonder, beauty and despair, by and with Andrea Brunello, directed by Christian Di Domenico, music by Enrico Merlin. The evening was introduced by the Metropolitan City of Milan and Legambiente Lombardia, and then, after the show, the participants had the opportunity to talk with Andrea Brunello and the project team.

The second week saw, on September 28th, 2021, the successful conclusion of the Life Metro Adapt project. During the morning and early afternoon at “Lo Spirit de Milan” (MI), the final conference “Strategies and measures for adaptation to climate change in the Metropolitan City of Milan” was held, which was followed both in presence and in online mode by more than 100 people.

The partners of the project were:

 

They presented to the media, EU delegates and numerous stakeholders, the results achieved during three years of work, in particular through the implementation of pilot interventions aimed at combating the high hydraulic risk to which the metropolitan area of Milan is exposed. These results were obtained thanks to Nature-Based Solutions, which are engineering works that are inspired by nature in order to study and reproduce its elements in urban areas to improve their resilience.

Afterwards, participants were invited to share their knowledge and experience in three focus groups that addressed three issues related to the project:

  1. Knowing the climate, by Elisa Anna Di Palma, Luca Trepiedi, Paolo Antonelli – Climate Change Line of the CReIAMO PA project of the Ministry of Ecological Transition, and Monica Palandri of e- GEOS.
  2. Adaptation to climate change, by Marina Trentin of Ambiente Italia and Marco Callerio of Gruppo CAP.
  3. Communicating climate, by Luca Lombroso, AMPRO meteorologist and environmental divulgator and Legambiente.

After lunch, a moment of restitution of the results of the work in plenary session followed.

The day ended in the late afternoon with the awarding event of the Photo contest “PhotoAdapt – The impacts of climate change in the Metropolitan City of Milan”.  This was followed by a convivial moment with an aperitif and good live music.

We are really proud of the achievements, and we are also happy to have shared with so many people knowledge, best practices and questions related to the world of climate change, promoting an active and constructive dialogue on the challenges of the climate crisis.

Thanks again to everyone who participated!

***
You can now download the LIFE Metro Adapt Handbook! The Handbook is a useful resource designed to disseminate both the results of the project and its tools and expertise. This way everyone can be inspired by the good practices carried out by the project.

(Collage pic: Michele Maggi)
(Pictures from project’s partners)