Marmara Municipalities Union


Marmara Municipalities Union (MMU) is the oldest and the largest regional Local Government Association in Turkey with 190 members from the Marmara Region. The MMU operates in 13 cities, 6 of which are metropolises. These are as follows: Balıkesir, Bilecik, Bolu, Bursa, Çanakkale, Düzce, Edirne, Istanbul, Kırklareli, Kocaeli, Sakarya, Tekirdağ, and Yalova. Since its foundation in 1975, the MMU has played an important role in the formation of a culture of agreement and collaboration among mayors and council members elected from different political parties, and in the development of cooperation between municipalities. It carries on important activities in areas such as training, consulting, maintaining a local government library, local diplomacy, magazine and book publishing, scientific activities, coordination and cooperation, migration and social cohesion studies, environmental management, corporate capacity building, and urbanisation.


Sarıdemir, Ragıp Gümüşpala Cd. No:10, 34134 Eminönü – Fatih/Fatih/İstanbul, Türkiye