Sardinia Autonomous Region


Sardinia is the second-largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, after Sicily. It is located west of the Italian Peninsula, north of Tunisia and eastern Algeria, and immediately south of the French island of Corsica. Politically, it is one of the 20 regions of Italy, and, among those, one of five that have been granted some degree of domestic autonomy by special statute. It is divided into four provinces and a metropolitan city. The capital of the region of Sardinia — and its largest city — is Cagliari.


Cagliari, Italy